“Amor Che Attende”

One of my favorite things about film scoring is getting to compose in so many different styles of music. I love discovering artists or genres, delving deeply into them and trying to find my voice in a new musical language. One example of this was a cue from a short film I did a few years ago, in which I did my best imitation of a classic 19th-century Italian opera aria. I asked an Italian composer friend (Vincenzo Marranca) to write the lyrics, and had the privilege of recording the excellent soprano Allie Tyler for the vocals. While I think I’ve become much better since then at sequencing realistic orchestral textures, I’m still pretty proud of this little tune. Check it out:

Here is the leadsheet, for those of you who are curious. And here are the lyrics in Italian and English:

Portami via
Oh mio amato redentor
Tu lo sai
Non cedero’
No, giammai
Ti riperdero’
Se mi vuoi
Se mi vuoi
Oh se mi vuoi
Il mio cuor tuo sara’
….
Se mi vuoi
Se mi vuoi
Oh se mi vuoi
Io qui ti aspettero’ 

Translation: 

Take me away
Oh my forgiving lover
You know
I will not give up
No, never
Will I lose you again
If you want me
If you want me
Oh, if you want me
My heart will be yours
….
If you want me
If you want me
Oh, if you want me
I will here wait for you

Leave a Comment

